Skip to main content


Table 3 Number of academic staff with Ph.D. qualification in some private higher learning institutions offering Master’s Degrees in education

From: Public–private partnership in higher education provision in Tanzania: implications for access to and quality of education

Higher education institution No. of Qualified Staff with a Ph.D.
Ruaha Catholic University (RUCU) 3
St. John’s University of Tanzania (SJUT) 2
Teofilo Kisanji University (TEKU)a 2
University of Bagamoyo (UoB)b 2
Sebastian Kolowa Memorial University (SEKOMU 3
Archbishop Mihayo University College of Tabora (AMUCTA)c 2
  1. Authors’ compilation based on information from university prospectuses of RUCU (2014), SJUT (2014), TEKU (2015), SEKOMU (2014), AMUCTA (2015), and
  2. These universities and university colleges offer many other postgraduate degrees but we chose only master’s degrees in education as a representative because they are offered in most of the institutions. Common master degrees in education in these institutions include Master of Arts in Education, Master of Education in Special Education, Master of Education Management and Planning, etc
  3. aThe institution’s postgraduate prospectus lists 13 academic staff with PhDs but only two of them appear to be employed by TEKU. The rest are employees of other higher learning institutions
  4. bThere are only two permanent staff with requisite qualifications; the rest are part time staff employed elsewhere in other institutions
  5. cThere are four listed academic staff with PhDs. However, two of the four staff are employees of the University of Dar es Salaam Mulokozi ( 2012)